Logo-White Background

2016 was a great year for rugby in Abbotsford and the surrounding area. Hundreds of boys and girls from grades 6-12 were involved in local school rugby programs.

At the senior high school level, there were 4 boys’ teams competing from Abbotsford, including Yale, Mouat, Abby Sr. and Robert Bateman. In the Provincial AAA division, Yale won the AAA Tier 1 Championship, bringing home their first provincial rugby banner. Mouat, Abby, and Bateman all qualified for provincials, Mouat finished 3rd in AAA Tier 2, Abby finished 6th in AA Tier 1 and Bateman lost a thriller in the final of the AA Tier 2 division to claim second. Commissioner’s 15 included Chris Combs (Yale), Dion Pellerin (Mouat), James Parker (Abby Sr.) and Dylan Araki (Bateman).

At the senior girls’ level, 3 teams competed from Abbotsford, as well as Mission Secondary. Abbotsford teams included Yale, Abbotsford Sr., and Robert Bateman. Yale had another strong season finishing 3rd in AAA at provincials. Abby made it to the AA final, finishing 2nd while Bateman finished 5th. Mission finished third in the Tier 2 league in their first year amalgamating the three Mission high schools into one.

Abbotsford teams experienced much success at the junior level as well with 5 teams in action, including Yale, Abby, Mouat, Bateman and Hansen. Yale was top of the Abby schools, falling to a strong South Delta team in the Fraser Valley final. Mouat finished 5th in the Valley while Bateman finished 7th with Abby on their heels. Hansen finished second in Tier 2.

In Grade 8 action, Abbotsford schools were very competitive. In the boys’ division, five Abbotsford schools competed in the local league, including Abby, Reimer, W. A. Fraser, Chief Dan and Clayburn. At the Fraser Valley championships, Fraser lost in the final in the second overtime to finish 2nd. Clayburn was 3rd and Chief was 8th with Abby on their heels. Reimer finished 2nd in Tier 2.

The Abbotsford Grade 8 girls’ league saw five local teams competing for the Upper Fraser Valley championship, including Abby, Howe, W.A. Fraser, Chief Dan, and Clayburn. Fraser managed to defeat Howe in the final, while Chief took 3rd, Abby 4th and Clayburn 5th.

The ARFC ran its annual middle school 7’s tournament again this year at Yale, but a shortened season unfortunately didn’t leave time for the high school sevens. With upwards of 30 teams competing in the middle school tournament, there were some exciting matches. Fraser won the grade 8 boys’ division, Clayburn won the grade 8 girls’ division, Stafford from Langley won the 7 boys’ division (Fraser taking the Abbotsford title), and Yorkson Creek from Langley winning the grade 7 girls’ division (Fraser winning the Abbotsford title).

With the help of local coaches, officials and designated club members, the Abbotsford Rugby Club has selected a senior boys All-City team from nominated players from each school.

The Abbotsford Rugby Club is very proud of local school athletes, teams and coaches, and would like to congratulate them for their successes both on and off the field. Congratulations to all successful 2016 recipients.

Senior Boys All-City Team 2016


Dylan Araki (Bateman)

Zach Bain (Yale)

Jones Belsher (Bateman)
Aaron Brandscome (Mouat)

Connor Byron (Yale)

Matt Calderone (Bateman)

Chris Combs (Yale)

Payton Gibson (Mouat)

Reese Gibson (Mouat)

Ali Ghafoor (Yale)

Evan Johnston (Yale)

Josh Long (Yale)

Gino Mayes (Abby Sr.)

Jake McLean (Yale)

Steve Michaud (Bateman)

Andrew Meier (Yale)

James Parker (Abby Sr.)

Dion Pellerin (Mouat)

Reuben Reardon (Mouat)

Thomas Rennie (Yale)

Luke Rideout (Yale)

Mike Sabourin (Abby Sr.)

Rhys Sommerville (Abby Sr.)

Cam Tomm (Mouat)

Diego Zuniga (Yale)


Senior Girls All-City Team 2016

Allison Appeldoorn (Bateman)

Kashish Arya (Abby Sr.)

Taylor Bailey (Bateman)

Emmy Baker (Mission)

Kate Baker (Mission)

Sophia Belsher (Bateman)

Mackenzie Carson (Yale)

Julianna Carter (Mouat/Abby Sr.)

Rachel Choboter (St. John Brebeuf/Abby Sr.)

Kanisha Clairmont (Yale)

Hunter Czeppel (Bateman)

Tausani Levale (Abby Sr.)

Kyra Lipke (Mission)

Alice Ned (Yale)

Tyanna Paling (Mission)

Trinity Pedersen (Abby Sr.)

Hailey Pelliter (Mission)

Cassie Terepocki (Yale)

Morgan Ursel (Bateman)


Ariel Wiebe (Yale)

  • featured sponsor ba landscaping
  • featured sponsor bcgaming
  • element Integrated Financial Solutions
  • featured sponsor esposito group
  • featured sponsor finnegans pub
  • featured sponsor kitt equipment
  • featured sponsor mtlehman liquor
  • featured sponsor phoenix lounge
  • featured sponsor sleeman
  • featured sponsor sumas mtn chiro
  • vipmazda