2015 was a strong year for rugby in Abbotsford and the surrounding area. Hundreds of boys and girls from grades 6-12 were involved in local school rugby programs, as many teams continue to expand and develop their rugby skills.

At the senior high school level, there were 6 boys’ teams competing from Abbotsford, including Robert Bateman, Yale, Abby Sr. and Mouat with Hansen and ATSS competing in the local sevens tourneys. In the Provincial AAA division, Yale won the public school championship, finishing third in the province behind private schools Shawnigan Lake and St. George’s. Yale also won their first ever Fraser Valley Banner. Bateman finished 7th in the provincial tournament. Abby and Mouat laid solid foundation to build their programs throughout the season.

At the senior girls’ level, 4 teams competed from Abbotsford, as well as Mission’s Heritage Park. Abbotsford teams included Abbotsford Sr., Rick Hansen, Robert Bateman, and Yale Secondary. Abby had a strong season and came 2nd in the AA division, while Bateman finished. Yale won their second consecutive Fraser Valley AAA championship and came 2nd at provincials. Heritage Park finished 5th at provincials in AA.

Abbotsford teams experienced much success at the junior level as well with 4 competitive teams in action, including Yale, Abby, Mouat, and Bateman. Yale had an excellent season, winning the Fraser Valley final with a one point win over South Delta. Mouat finished 2nd out of the Abbotsford schools with Abby and Bateman on their heels. Mouat and Yale also ran second junior teams this year, with Yale making it to the Tier 2 final where they were edged by Elgin Park.

In Grade 8 action, Abbotsford schools were very competitive. In the boys’ division, six Abbotsford schools competed in the local league, including Abby, Reimer, Fraser, Chief Dan, Clayburn and Howe. At the Fraser Valley championships, Reimer came third, Fraser finished 5th, and Clayburn 7th.

The Abbotsford Grade 8 girls’ league saw four local teams competing for the Upper Fraser Valley championship. Abby, Howe, W.A. Fraser, Clayburn, and new Langley school, Yorkson Creek, made up the league. Fraser managed to defeat Clayburn in the final, while Yorkson took third, Abby 4th and Howe 5th.

The ARFC ran its annual 7’s tournaments again this year at Yale. With upwards of 25 teams competing in both the middle and high school tournaments, there were some fantastic matches. Final winners included Yale winning all high school divisions and clinching senior boys, senior girls and junior boys’ divisions. Reimer won the grade 8 boys championship, and Fraser secured the grade 8 girls division. Howe won the grade 7 girls’ division and Fraser won for the grade 7 boys.

With the help of local coaches, officials and designated club members, the Abbotsford Rugby Club has selected a senior boys All-City team from nominated players from each school.

The Abbotsford Rugby Club is very proud of local school athletes, teams and coaches, and would like to congratulate them for their successes both on and off the field. Congratulations to all successful 2015 recipients.

Senior Boys All-City Team 2015

Kirat Badesha (Hansen)
Noah Bain (Yale)
Matt Calderon (Bateman)
Ryan Chandler (Yale)
Daniel Cercel (Yale)
Chris Combs (Yale)
Phillip Cromwell (Abby)
Ronald Francis-Modeste (Bateman)
Matt Francouer (Bateman)
Matt Fraser (Yale)
Payton Gibson (Mouat)
Spencer Hilliard (Yale)
Aaron Huh (Yale)
Evan Johnston (Yale)
Jake Larsen (Yale)
Josh Long (Yale)
James Ma (Hansen)
Jake McLean (Yale)
Christian Morellato (Yale)
Thomas Rennie (Yale)
Luke Rideout (Yale)
Thomas Sharpe (Abby)
Jake Thiel (Bateman)
Josh Thiel (Bateman)
Cameron Tomm (Mouat)
Austin Zacher (Bateman)

  • featured sponsor ba landscaping
  • featured sponsor bcgaming
  • element Integrated Financial Solutions
  • featured sponsor esposito group
  • featured sponsor finnegans pub
  • featured sponsor kitt equipment
  • featured sponsor mtlehman liquor
  • featured sponsor phoenix lounge
  • featured sponsor sleeman
  • featured sponsor sumas mtn chiro
  • vipmazda