jason youngThe ARFC men's team has secured a new coach for the 2010-11 season as it's top two teams make the jump from the Coulter league to province's elite Spray League. The ARFC is very happy to have local coach Jason Young at the helm of the men's squad for this important transition season. Jason just returned from coaching the U-20 Canadian women to a championship in the Bahamas and was the 2009 recipient of the Gerald McGavin Coaching Award (GMCA).  This special award acknowledges BC rugby coaches who have left an indelible mark on their rugby community.

Jason came through the Abbotsford school system as a product of Abbotsford Senior and a strong representative player in the centers. He went on to play several seasons with the Abbotsford Rugby Club and has been coaching in the community at various schools for over 15 years, including Abbotsford Senior and Rick Hansen. Jason has also coached the men's and women's programs in the Abbotsford Rugby Club.

Jason has been tirelessly committed to his craft and works hard to develop his skills as a tactician of the game. In recent years, Jason has been the local Fraser Valley youth director working with clubs in the Valley to foster growth of community programs. He has also been coach of the BC women, Canadian Junior women, and the Fraser Valley U-20 men over the past several years.

The Abbotsford Rugby Club is very pleased that Jason has decided to work with the men's team and looks forward to a successful season in the Spray league. The league structure has changed slightly this year in that the spring will see a 3 tiered structure instead of the previous 2 tiered structure. During the fall season, Abbotsford will play in the Spray mainland league, where it will play the 8 other mainland teams, including Burnaby, Meralomas, Capilano, Rowers, Bayside, UBC Old Boys Ravens, UBC, and the Brit Lions who newly joined the league with Abbotsford.

Based on fall league play, these teams will be put in three pools with the Island elite teams, indcluding James Bay, Oak Bay, UVic, Velox and Cowichan. After a round of pool play, the top 3 teams in each pool will advance to Tier 1, the remaining 5 teams will join the top 3 from the Coulter league (Abbotsford was in this last year) to form an 8 team Tier 2 league. The remaining 6 or 7 teams in the Coulter league and Island league will play in the Tier 3 league.

This new structure was developed in an attempt to reduce the disparity between top and bottom teams in what used to be a two tiered spring league, with the Province Wide First Division (which Abbotsford played in) and the CDI Premier Division (which Abbotsford will now contend for). With the new structure, it is hoped that there will be 3 competitive leagues with room for movement each year. It is Abbotsford's hope that Jason Young can lead and build our club into conention for the top tier. We wish him and all of our teams well in the coming season.

  • featured sponsor ba landscaping
  • featured sponsor bcgaming
  • element Integrated Financial Solutions
  • featured sponsor esposito group
  • featured sponsor finnegans pub
  • featured sponsor kitt equipment
  • featured sponsor mtlehman liquor
  • featured sponsor phoenix lounge
  • featured sponsor sleeman
  • featured sponsor sumas mtn chiro
  • vipmazda