Courtesy of Dan Kinvig - Abbotsford News
Published: December 17, 2009

The Abbotsford Rugby Football Club completed an impressive double on Sunday, as its U19 Tier 1 boys team clinched the provincial title with a 22-10 victory over James Bay.

The previous weekend, the Abby U19 Tier 2 side had also won B.C. gold, edging Burnaby 20-19. According to ARFC president Ryan McWhinney, the Abby double is believed to be the first time in B.C. Rugby Union history that two boys teams from the same club have won provincial titles in the same age class.

"It's a real testament to the commitment of the kids," said McWhinney, who noted that Abbotsford was one of only two associations in the province to run two U19 boys sides. "We're really proud of the work our local kids and our coaches are doing to develop the game of rugby in Abbotsford."

In the Tier 1 title game, played in Victoria, Abbotsford came out firing on all cylinders. Jake Buskell, Sheldon Bates, Jordan Tait-Comis and Corey Sheremeto scored tries, and Tait-Comis booted a convert to stake Abby to a 22-0 lead at the break.

"Our guys came out and played the best rugby they've played all season," McWhinney said. "They executed a lot of the patterns we've been working on. We told them all throughout the playoffs that it's the team that makes the fewest mistakes that usually comes out victorious, and in that first half they did a great job."

James Bay regrouped at halftime and made a second-half push, but Abbotsford was able to fend off the rally thanks to some impressive goal-line stands to secure the victory 22-10.

Abbotsford Players and Coaches

2009 U-19 Tier 1 BC Champions

Back Row (from left): Ryan McWhinney (coach), Konrad Rybkowski (coach), Mike Neufeldt, Sam Brewis, Jose Codoceo, Jamie Good, Adrian Scott, Paul Bodner, Nathan Sandhu, Matt Turcotte, Sunny Toor, Nick Quirk, Bryan Cuthbertson, Braden Dormuth, Arie Neu, Iqbal Sidhu, Aaron Sawatzky, Alex Van Volsen, Ian Mackenzie (coach)

Kneeling (from left): Jamie Mackenzie, Tyler Fik, Darwin Guevara, Alex Thipavong, Sheldon Bates, Corey Sheremeto, Brayden Yasinsky, Jordan Tait-Comis, Patty Shields, Aidan Finlay

Bottom (from left): Kurtis Appeldoorn (C), Jake Buskell (C)

  • featured sponsor ba landscaping
  • featured sponsor bcgaming
  • element Integrated Financial Solutions
  • featured sponsor esposito group
  • featured sponsor finnegans pub
  • featured sponsor kitt equipment
  • featured sponsor mtlehman liquor
  • featured sponsor phoenix lounge
  • featured sponsor sleeman
  • featured sponsor sumas mtn chiro
  • vipmazda