Congratulations to four Abbotsford U-19 players who received rugby Scholarships at the BC Rugby Championships in late May. Corey Sheremeto and Jon Martin of Bateman, Kurtis Appeldoorn of Mouat, and Aidan Finlay of Abbotsford Collegiate all took home awards. Abbotsford was the club with the largest number of award winners in the province. Read on for all the recipients.

Congratulations to the 2009 BCSSRU Scholarship Winners. The BCSSRU are pleased to announce the fifteen candidates selected to receive BCSSRU Scholarships for 2009.  These were announced at the Provincials 2009 Opening Ceremony in Thunderbird Stadium (UBC) on Wednesday, May 27.

BC Secondary Schools’ Rugby Union Scholarships

  • Cole Coventry (Earl Marriott)
  • Johnny Humphries (St. Michaels University)
  • Jonathan Martin (Robert Bateman)
  • Keaton Styles (Earl Marriott)

Derek Hyde-Lay Memorial Scholarships

  • Zahid Jethani (St. George’s)
  • Corey Sheremeto (Robert Bateman)

Pacific Northwest Over 40 Rugby Union Scholarships

  • Kurtis Appeldoorn (W.J. Mouat)
  • Shea Wakefield (Oak Bay)

BC Rugby Union (Benj O’Connor) Scholarship

  • Carlin Hamstra (Shawnigan Lake)

Lower Mainland Zone Rugby Scholarship

  • Ross Yellowlees  (St. George’s)

Donn Spence (UBC) Scholarship

  • Colin Graydon (Semiahmoo)

Bruce Howe (UVic) Scholarship

  • Casey Cavers (Ladysmith)

BC Secondary Schools’ Rugby Scholarships  (Sponsored by x-treme Rugbywear Ltd.)

  • Aidan Finlay (Abbotsford Collegiate)
  • Lucas Fletcher (Sullivan Heights)

BC Rugby Referees’ Society/BC Secondary Schools’ Rugby Union Referee Scholarship

  • Eric Berard (Rockridge)
  • featured sponsor ba landscaping
  • featured sponsor bcgaming
  • element Integrated Financial Solutions
  • featured sponsor esposito group
  • featured sponsor finnegans pub
  • featured sponsor kitt equipment
  • featured sponsor mtlehman liquor
  • featured sponsor phoenix lounge
  • featured sponsor sleeman
  • featured sponsor sumas mtn chiro
  • vipmazda